Meri’s Musical Musings

How to get at least half a dozen more people at your concerts

Posted on: April 22, 2016

If you teach as well as perform, get your students involved in the concerts. Typically, I have 2 or 3 students assisting with a concert, but occasionally I need as many as 6, especially for student concerts. One to turn pages for my pieces and those of clarinet students, one to handle the programs, collect concert proceeds, and one to handle the reception. Occasionally a fourth is needed to start and stop the computer during the recording of the concert. Usually I pick students at least 11 or 12 years old, but I have occasionally hired mature 7 to 9 year olds, even for turning pages if they are tall enough and the page turning is easy.

Other ways of incorporating students is for photography and stage hand work to set up chairs for small ensembles. For very young piano students, a mature and gentle teen can help make young performers have a successful first performance. And, if you are really in a rush, students can run errands such as photocopying programs and getting food for the reception.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • V V: Wish I had read this before I fell for their scheme ! Oh well - have posted my experience on Yelp and N49 and hoping others can avoid the pain of fal
  • clariniano: Thanks for the additional information. It was actually Yelp that deleted my reviews, because of so-called bias. I too have seen the horrible technique
  • No Thanks: Former Teacher at the Ontario Conservatory of Music I took lessons at the Ontario Conservatory and when I left for private lessons from another tea
