Meri’s Musical Musings

Why I like teaching transfer students

Posted on: September 24, 2013

 Some teachers I’ve seen say that they hate fixing major problems in a student’s playing that a student developed in their study with other teachers. However,  provided that the students and parents are willing to work well with me and follow my tips and apply them with a good attitude, I actually LOVE transfer students, and have successfully changed many student’s playing for the better, in some cases it set them on a path to a professional musical career.

I see it as an opportunity to prove why you have the reputation you do as an outstanding teacher, or why you’re so much better than who they had before. Students who have a high quality teacher as their first teacher (which is rather rare in itself) often don’t know what they’ve got until the teacher leaves, or much more often, the student’s parents leave the teacher, sometimes floundering from teacher to teacher after they leave a great teacher.

And when the parents and students see the results of your amazing teaching, they will sometimes refer you several more students. In one case, one of my past clarinet students (he’s in his final year of a program in music performance at a high end school) referred me over half a dozen potential students in 6 months, despite the fact that his family lived about 1 hour away by car, 2 of which became my students. Another family of piano students in the nearly 5 years the initial student started with me referred me 75% of the students I had at the time, of a studio of nearly 20 students, which through I was travel teaching 2 days a week, most of the students were in one building and almost always had them on the same day for several hours one day a week.

 

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • V V: Wish I had read this before I fell for their scheme ! Oh well - have posted my experience on Yelp and N49 and hoping others can avoid the pain of fal
  • clariniano: Thanks for the additional information. It was actually Yelp that deleted my reviews, because of so-called bias. I too have seen the horrible technique
  • No Thanks: Former Teacher at the Ontario Conservatory of Music I took lessons at the Ontario Conservatory and when I left for private lessons from another tea
