Meri’s Musical Musings

Student’s favourite and not-so-favourite rewards from my treasure box for a successful lesson

Posted on: May 2, 2012

For the past several months, I have been keeping a box of a large variety of different small rewards for my students aged 10 or 11 and under when students have great lessons. Over those few months, I’ve discovered which rewards are hits and which ones are misses

Hits:

Treble clef straws (available at Music In Motion)

Number puzzles (sold as party favors at dollar stores)

Small notebooks, especially those with a smiley face

Chocolate Money (in Canada, chocolate “loonies”, or $1 replicas, are sold in dollar stores)

Yo-Yos (party favours)

Spinning Tops

Bubble Wands with solution (the butterfly ones are popular with girls in my studio)

Rings, especially seasonal ones

Mini boxes or packets of stickers

Bird Whistles (sold at Music in Motion)

Fun Size Candies, especially of the Maynards candies, mostly sold around Halloween

Mini Play-Do containers

Misses:

Pencils

Erasers

Bookmarks

Skipping Ropes

Mini playing card decks

Most music themed items

Ink Stampers

CDs

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • V V: Wish I had read this before I fell for their scheme ! Oh well - have posted my experience on Yelp and N49 and hoping others can avoid the pain of fal
  • clariniano: Thanks for the additional information. It was actually Yelp that deleted my reviews, because of so-called bias. I too have seen the horrible technique
  • No Thanks: Former Teacher at the Ontario Conservatory of Music I took lessons at the Ontario Conservatory and when I left for private lessons from another tea
