Meri’s Musical Musings

Using a camera in a teaching studio

Posted on: April 20, 2012

I recently had the good fortune to be able to purchase an entry-level SLR (Single Lens Reflex) camera, as my old digital camera, a high end consumer model, was on its very last legs since I got it as a birthday gift 5 1/2 years ago and 3500 photos later. But, the new camera has enabled me to do things that I have not done before. 

One of the things I was not able to do before was to zoom in on student’s hands when playing their instruments, which I took pictures of their hands showing their correct hand, wrist, and finger position, and when they were showing a not-so-good one. These photos I then sent to parents of students or the student themselves if they are older teens and adults.

Another way I am using my new camera is to take portraits of students, especially students who are doing a solo recital, or need them for promotional purposes. A few students I have had (they’re now in university for music) were not able to afford a professional photographer, but we got some creative photos that were excellent.

A third way I am using it is by creating a photo album of various moments. For example, one piano student likes to balance her 5 books in the level she is at on her head. Some of the clarinet students, especially the males, sometimes like to pretend their clarinet is a gun. Occasionally I’ll think of a particular idea of what students could do, like one that I’m planning is for a piano student to pretend their books are like giant playing cards and hold them as such while I take photos.

A fourth way I’m using it is to take photos of the teaching tools that are incorporated. My favourite is one of the treasure box I use for the students who are 10 or under when they have a great lesson. 

Finally, a camera can be used to take videos before one has the funds to get a camcorder; however, some digital cameras now are capable of zooming while doing video so that a camcorder may not be necessary.

 

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • V V: Wish I had read this before I fell for their scheme ! Oh well - have posted my experience on Yelp and N49 and hoping others can avoid the pain of fal
  • clariniano: Thanks for the additional information. It was actually Yelp that deleted my reviews, because of so-called bias. I too have seen the horrible technique
  • No Thanks: Former Teacher at the Ontario Conservatory of Music I took lessons at the Ontario Conservatory and when I left for private lessons from another tea
