Meri’s Musical Musings

How Musical are You?

Posted on: February 3, 2011

A friend of mine on Facebook recently posted this online musicality test from the BBC, which I thought was fun and interesting.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/labuk/experiments/musicality/

(If you’re not registered with them, you need to create a login)

They’re doing it in the name of research. My own profile was about what I expected: high in interest and aural skills, average for emotional response, and low in what they call ‘social connectivity’.

I thought this was a great test, and I rarely do the online tests I hear about. I see its potential for determining suitable instruments for young school music students, screening students for some teacher’s private studios (such as those who mostly like to focus on gifted students, though I will take a variety of students provided the interest and support is there), or potential music majors, and what specialties they should consider.

I would have liked to see a section on judging tone quality of various instruments, since that would be useful in where the player controls the tone to a large extent (some wind instruments and most strings) and on dynamic range. The former would be useful to help choose people who would be more likely successful at teaching music in schools, and the latter would be good to determine who has the ability to become a succesful performer.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • V V: Wish I had read this before I fell for their scheme ! Oh well - have posted my experience on Yelp and N49 and hoping others can avoid the pain of fal
  • clariniano: Thanks for the additional information. It was actually Yelp that deleted my reviews, because of so-called bias. I too have seen the horrible technique
  • No Thanks: Former Teacher at the Ontario Conservatory of Music I took lessons at the Ontario Conservatory and when I left for private lessons from another tea
